Black Box: Poems

A powerful collection from Frank X Walker, winner of the 2005 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry. In this collection of sixty-eight poems, Kentucky writer Frank X Walker continues the personal poetic writing of his bestselling debut collection, Affrilachia. In Black Box, he expertly melds autobiography, political commentary, and literary allusions into a devastatingly beautiful journey through the real “Affrilachia”—a word Walker created to render visible the lives of the African Americans who call the rural and Appalachian South home. Written with passion, clarity, and emotional honesty, the poems in Black Box illuminate profound experiences at the intersection of race, love, social justice, family, identity and place.

Meet the Author

Frank X Walker

Frank X Walker is a native of Danville, Kentucky, and professor of English at the University of Kentucky. A former Kentucky poet laureate, he is founding member of the Affrilachian Poets. Walker created the word Affrilachia to help make visible the Black experience in the Appalachian South. He is the author of many poetry volumes, including Affrilachia, Buffalo Dance: The Journey of York, Black Box: Poems, When Winter Come: The Ascension of York, and Isaac Murphy: I Dedicate This Ride.

Join us Saturday, November 6!

Visit Joseph-Beth Booksellers in Lexington KY for a full day of programs and more than 140 authors on-site to meet-and-greet and sign books! Doors open at 10:00 a.m. See the “Events” page to see Saturday’s schedule.

KY Book Festival Books footer-01